top of page
  • Writer's pictureAniwis

The 3D printer guy

Today I was ready to talk about Fray Bentos, which was a completely different experience from what I thought it would be. However, looking for the name of the teachers (I already knew Alvaro´s, of course, and thanks for everything, btw) I started looking for the other guy that helped us that day, surprisingly, I got to the full name: Alejandro Ferreira, but also to some videos of him. I watched the first, he was talking to an audience in like it seemed to be a huge event (I guess it was called FIIS or something) and when it finished I was so effing crying and couldn’t believe it touched my life a bit.


Nothing is impossible, impossible is what you don’t try- He said. I inmediately started thinking that if I’m here is because it wasn’t impossible, but there are many things I could have tried before, and would’ve changed my life, if I would’ve taken risks maybe I wouldn’t be here, I would’ve been with people of my same age, feeling less uncomfortable, less an outsider.


When I was young, nobody told me I could do the stuff I want (nobody told me I couldn't do great stuff either) nobody told me anything. Let´s say people was so lost and nobody told anything to encourage anybody, so I'm not gonna blame anyone. When I grew up, I dreamed big stuff, but anytime I tired something and failed, never went back and tried again, that made me live a life full of fears, dreaming big, but doing small. Even when I talked with my first boyfriend about my future plans, he answered WJack of all trades, master of none". And so it was.


Now I came across with these videos and the 3D printer guy, who lived and grew up with much less than I did, but stayed so positive, had numerous ideas, dreamed big, had the chances and took them. It is the kind of stories that you can see in movies, but actually are closer than you think. Oh! And he’s was just 22 when these videos were recorded. What was I doing when I was 22? Oh yes, crying because I failed my first university carreer.


He says that an idea is the starting point for everything, and when you are willing to develop your idea, it opens up a whole new reality, and when you get the chance to make your idea big, when an opportunity stands right before you, never let it go, even though it represents a risk, because being always on the edge of failure shows you something, you learn something and is always worth to try. If we try and fail, we learn, if we try and win, we learn as well, and it leads us to what we want to be, we can change our reality, our family´s reality or the world´s.


Sometimes we need somebody who tells us that we can do anything, we need somebody to support us when we fail, and need somebody who could teach us when the opportunities are in front of us and take them. We need somebody who tells us to stop crying and start again. We need somebody who teaches us not to be afraid.


Thank you 3d printer guy, you brought a little hope to my soul.



22 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Week 9 by Macarena

After all we make decisions to how do the presentation and the poster. Tomás and Ana talk in english very good so we decided for them. The day is so close and we all have some anxiety for that day !!!

Week 8 by Macarena

This week we decided details of the project. Some interviews make us do conclusions very interesting. We know the process is not enough to finish all because some things happen after done the project.

WEEK 8 by Tomás

In my opinion week 8 was the toughest week. I've worked a lot to make an early version, and I mean an early early version of booQRit. We've created a few personalized exercises and luckly I was able t

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page